11 AFHL Players Named to Team Alberta

RED DEER – The Alberta Female Hockey League will be well represented at the 2021 Western Regional Women’s U18 Championship with 11 players named to the roster.

On Monday afternoon, Hockey Alberta announced the 20-player roster that will be sporting Team Alberta colours at the inaugural 2021 Western Regional Women’s U18 Championship in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, November 1-6.

Heading east with the team are:

  • Goal: Ridleigh Hansen (Lloydminster U18 AAA Steelers)
  • Defence: Robyn Brokenshire (St. Albert U18 AAA Slash), Sadie Makokis (Edmonton U18 AAA Pandas)
  • Forwards: Jet Devlin (St. Albert U18 AAA Slash), Jacquelyn Fleming (Edmonton U18 AAA Pandas), Emerson Jarvis (Edmonton U18 AAA Pandas), Evelyn Lawrence (Calgary U18 AAA Fire), Jorja Nystrom (Edmonton U18 AAA Pandas), Cassidy Rhodes (Edmonton U18 AAA Pandas), Leighanna Rizarri (Calgary U18 AAA Fire), and Haley Trudeau (St. Albert U18 AAA Slash).

Team Alberta U18 Female Roster >

The roster features 10 players who competed at the 2020 Alberta Winter Games and nine players who dressed for the 2019 Alberta Challenge.

“It has been a very interesting and challenging 2021 U18 Team Alberta experience for players, parents and staff. The ability for everyone involved to pivot throughout the process leads me to believe we have a very resilient bunch heading into a western competition,” said Team Alberta U18 Head Coach, Barry Medori. “I am proud of all participants from the first camp to the final selections. All athletes made coming up with a final list of 20 athletes to represent Alberta extremely difficult.”

The selection process was different this year. In August, Hockey Alberta welcomed 136 players to Red Deer for the Summer Selection Camp. Over the course of three days, the players were evaluated with 36 invitations extended to the Fall Camp from which the 20-player roster was selected.

“We are preparing to make Alberta proud with our team a few short weeks away from competing for a championship. I am excited to see what we can achieve with this group of amazing athletes, training staff and coaches,” said Medori.

Medori will be joined on the bench by assistant coaches Shanya Shwetz and Chris Leeming. Rounding out the team’s staff are Annette Jensen (Video Coach), Marlène Boissonnault (Goalie Coach), and Kendall Newell (Director of Operations).

Twelve Minor Hockey Associations are represented on the team, including: Airdrie, Beaumont, Calgary, Calmar, Chestermere, Edmonton, Lethbridge, Mundare, Red Deer, Sherwood Park, St. Albert and Strathcona.

Team Alberta will compete against teams from Manitoba, Saskatchewan and B.C. at the 2021 Western Regional Women’s U18 Championship. A three-game round robin will be played, followed by semi-finals with teams advancing to either the Bronze or Gold Medal final. A schedule and ticket information will be available in the coming weeks.

For more information on Team Alberta and the 2021 Western Regional Women’s U18 Championship, visit hockeyalberta.ca or follow on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram.