AFHL Scholarships


The Alberta Female Hockey League will annually present up to 10 scholarships, valuing in $1,000 each. These scholarships will be awarded to the student athletes who best exemplify the values of the AFHL; academics, athletics, and personal growth. These scholarships will be awarded to players who have plans of attending post-secondary during the 2024-2025 academic year. Student-Athletes applying for these scholarships do not necessarily need to be seeking to play hockey at that post-secondary institution.

The application deadline is April 15, all submissions should be received by email to Kendall Newell.



  • A graduating U18 AAA player continuing onto post-secondary
  • A graduating U18 AA player continuing onto post-secondary


  • ¬†Fall into the aforementioned age range (specified above)
  • In good academic standing with current academic institution
  • Leader within their team and the sport of hockey
  • Contributes positively to their school or community
  • Demonstrates the values of the AFHL
  • Must be attending full-time post-secondary for the 2024-2025 season (does not need to be playing on a hockey team)


o Athlete photo for promotional use if the applicant is successful
o Personal Information Questionnaire
o Personal Resume; it should include academic standing, athletic achievements,
leadership activities, community service, other extra-curricular activities (sports,
clubs, etc), academic awards and work experience (if any).
o Copy of highschool transcripts (unofficial transcripts are accepted however
applicants must be able to provide official transcripts prior to Sept 1 if requested)
o Personal Essay (300- 500 words)
o Letter of recommendation from current head coach
o Letter of recommendation from school administrator or teacher


o The Elite Female Hockey Committee will select the successful applicants; based
on high academic achievement, strong contributor to female hockey,
contributions to their community and upstanding individual character.
o The successful candidate will be notified on or before May 15 and announced
publicly shortly thereafter

Questions regarding the scholarship or application should be submitted to Kendall Newell.

Past Recipients >